Biography

   

The Hanson Quartet was founded in 2013 in Paris. Since then the four musicians have devoted their efforts to exploring the enormously rich repertoire composed for string quartets and to realising the fundamental and inexhaustable possibilities both musical and personal offered by this musical formation.The Hanson Quartet recorded their first album in 2019 with the label Aparté ,a double CD devoted to the music of Joseph Haydn.

This composer, the cornerstone of the string quartet repertoire, has been a constant companion and guide since their debut. The inventivity of his music is a constantly renewed source of inspiration and the double CD takes the form of an eclectic portrait to illustrate Haydn's modernity and the diversity of his music for string quartet. This first recording received several major awads, including a Diapason d'Or (Diapason), Choc from Classica, Qobuzissime award and was selected by Frace Musique as well as being highly acclaimed by the International musical press (Strad magazine, Ongaku Geijutsu, the Classic Review, etc...)
The Hanson Quartet has forged a distinct musical identity embracing a wide spectrum of musical horizons and has worked with internationally recognized figures such as Hatto Beyerle and Johannes Meissl as well as with representative Quartets of the French School of Chamber Music such as Ebene and Ysaye. The Hanson Quartet is also passionately engaged with contemporary composers such as Toshio Hosokawa, Wolfgang Rihm and Mathias Pintscher whose Figura IV they interpreted for the French Premiere at the Ircam Festival. They are scheduled to perform George Crumb's composition for amplified quartet  "Black Angels" at the Deauville Festival in August, 2020. The Quartet try to bring together composers of differing periods in their concert programs so as to illuminate the individual works in a new and unexpected manner thanks to the contrast of selected compositions.

The Hanson Quartet has gained a number of international awards, at the Geneva competition, the Joseph Haydn Competition in Vienna and at the Lyon Chamber Music competition. They are supported by the Singer-Polignac Foundation where they are actually in residence, by the Corde Sensible Foundation (French Foundation) and they are laureats of the Bank of France.

The Quartet perform in prestigious venues such as the Louvre Auditorium, the Wigmore Hall in London, the Philharmonie of Paris, the Victoria Hall in Geneva, the ORF Kulturhaus in Vienna and they regularly perform in Asia. The enriching experience of exchange with artists from a wide range of fields is a primordial aspect of their activity and they regularly appear together with musicians such as Betrand Chamayou, Edgar Moreau, Adam Laloum, Pierre Genisson, Bruno Philippe, Vadim Kholodenko and Guillaume Bellom.

Anton HANSON, Jules DUSSAP - Violin

Gabrielle LAFAIT - Viola

Simon DECHAMBRE - Cello

Biographie

    Le Quatuor Hanson se fonde en 2013 à Paris. Depuis, les quatre musiciens n’ont de cesse d’explorer la richesse du répertoire du Quatuor à cordes et la force de cette formation qui offre des possibilités de recherches musicales et humaines essentielles et inépuisables. 

    Ils enregistrent leur premier album au sein du Label Aparté en 2019, un double disque consacré à Joseph Haydn. Ce compositeur qui représente le point d’ancrage du répertoire pour quatuor accompagne les Hanson depuis ses débuts, et l’inventivité de sa musique est pour eux un terrain de jeu sans cesse renouvelé. Ce double album en forme de portait éclectique de Haydn met en relief sa modernité et la diversité de ses quatuors ; ce premier disque est récompensé d’un Diapason d’Or, du Choc de Classica, du Qobuzissime et du Choix de France Musique et a été vivement salué par la presse internationale ( The Strad, Ongaku Geijutsu, The Classic Review...)

    Le Quatuor Hanson a créé son identité  en explorant des horizons différents en travaillant notamment avec des maîtres autrichiens comme Hatto Beyerle et Johannes Meissl, mais aussi fortement inspiré par l’école française auprès des Quatuors Ebène et Ysaye. Ensemble à la curiosité aiguisée, le quatuor Hanson se passionne également pour des compositeurs de son temps tels que Toshio Hosokawa, Wolfgang Rihm, ou encore Mathias Pintscher dont ils interprètent la première française de Figura IV au Festival de l’IRCAM. Ils enregistreront en live la pièce saisissante « Black Angels » pour quatuor amplifié de George Crumb en août 2020 au Festival de Deauville. Ils se plaisent également à provoquer des rencontres anachroniques entre des compositeurs de différentes époques et aiment proposer des programmes où ces contrastes éclairent les œuvres d’une manière nouvelle et inattendue. 

    Le Quatuor Hanson a remporté de nombreux prix internationaux notamment aux Concours de Genève, J. Haydn à Vienne et Lyon. Il est soutenu par la fondation Singer-Polignac où les musiciens sont en résidence, par la Fondation Corde Sensible (Fondation de France) et ils sont lauréats de la Fondation Banque Populaire.

    Ils poursuivent une carrière internationale en se produisant à l’Auditorium du Louvre, au Wigmore Hall à Londres, à la Philharmonie de Paris, au Victoria Hall de Genève, à l’ORF Kulturhaus à Vienne et jouent régulièrement en Asie. L’enrichissement qui résulte de la rencontre avec d’autres artistes est pour eux primordial ; ils partagent régulièrement la scène avec des musiciens comme Edgar Moreau, Adam Laloum, Pierre Genisson, Bruno Philippe, Vadim Kholodenko, ou encore Guillaume Bellom.

 

 

Anton HANSON, Jules DUSSAP - Violons

Gabrielle LAFAIT - Alto

Simon DECHAMBRE - Violoncelle